Spring Break has arrived!!
With the usually nice weather, all of us have been a little extra energetic around here this week.  Boys and girls are working to get their names on the new BINGO chart in class.  I hope to catch them being good...when I do, they put their names on the chart.  I intend to draw a winner at the end of each week.  I didn't do that today, so I will begin the week of March 26 with our first winner.  It is so much fun when I catch them being good! 
When we return on March 26, we will continue working on unit 5 in reading.  We have been focusing on characters and their traits.  Next we will work on identifying story sequence.  I look forward to sharing Patricia Polacco's Thundercake with students.  They will enjoy it!  This week we studied Farmer Brown from the Click, Clack, Moo series.  We also read from Henry and Mudge, and Scardey Squirrel.  All of those stories are great!
In math we are going to begin unit 6 when we return.  It focuses on balanced euqations, place value, and adding and subtracting into the 1,000's place.  PLEASE continue working on basic math facts with your kiddo.  There are still boys and girls that are bringing down their test scores because they cannot rapidly answer timed tests.  As I mentioned at conferences last month, by 3rd grade students are expected to know those facts.  They get very little review time on adding and subtraction.  Just food for thought...

Have a wonderful Spring Break!!!
Mrs. S. :)

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.